Oklahoma governor declares emergency following severe storms - KTEN.com - Texoma news, weather and sports

Oklahoma governor declares emergency following severe storms

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for 12 eastern Oklahoma counties where damage was reported over the weekend from severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds.

Fallin issued the declaration Monday after severe storms rumbled through the region on Friday, damaging houses and other structures. Counties included in the governor's declaration are: Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Haskell, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Muskogee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, and Tulsa.

The governor's executive order authorizes state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to counties and local cities and towns. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal disaster assistance.

The executive order will remain in effect for 30 days and could be amended to include additional counties if needed.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.