Murray State College Aggies Win NJCAA DII National Title - - Texoma news, weather and sports

Murray State College Aggies Win NJCAA DII National Title

Posted: Updated:

TISHOMINGO, OK ---- The Murray State College Aggies won the NJCAA DII National Title on June 1, 2013. This is their first National Title in school history. The Aggies finished out their historic season by defeating the number one ranked, reigning champions, LSU-Eunice, 4-3. This was Murray State's first appearance in the national tournament. They got there by winning the Region 2 and Plains District titles for the first time in school history.

In addition to the National Championship trophy, MSC players and coaches earned All-Tournament honors.  Jared Sterling, Bradley Horn, Keach Ballard, Hunter Raley and Noel Nevarez were all named to the All-Tournament Team.  Ballard earned Defensive Player of the Tournament honors.  Raley was named Most Valuable Pitcher of the tournament.  Raley was 2-0 in the tournament, with a 0.83 ERA over 12 innings. He gave up only 6 hits in the two games, and struck out ten.  Nevarez was named the Tournament MVP.  Nevarez had a .400 batting average, with three doubles, a home run and 6 RBIs in addition to several key defensive plays.  MSC head coach Zach Crabtree was named Coach of the Tournament.