Chickasaw Nation election results announced - - Texoma news, weather and sports

Chickasaw Nation election results announced

Posted: Updated:

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced the results of the 2010 tribal election today.

Legislators Mary Jo Green and Linda Briggs won reelection while a runoff election will be required for Panola District, Seat 1. Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Mark Holmes Colbert retained his seat.

Incumbent Beth Alexander, Achille, will face Beryl F. Sears, Hendrix, in a runoff election for the Panola District seat. 

Mrs. Green, of Ada, was reelected to Pontotoc District, Seat 5. With 62 percent of the votes, she defeated challengers Mark Johnson, Ada, and Todd Griffith, Newcastle.

In the Pickens District, Seat 3, race, Mrs. Briggs of Marietta, retained her seat with 61 percent of votes. She was challenged by Mike Watson, Ardmore, and Daniel Worcester, Ardmore.

Tishomingo District, Seat 2 incumbent legislator Timothy K. Colbert of Sulphur was unchallenged.

Sitting Chickasaw Nation Justice Mr. Colbert, Ardmore, received 71 percent of the votes. He was challenged by Jeremy D. Oliver, Wynnewood.

Ballots for the runoff election will be mailed to Panola District voters Aug. 16 and will be due back to the election secretary by 10:30 a.m., Aug. 31.

Elected officials will take the oath of office 11 a.m., Friday, Oct. 1.

For more information, call Loder at (888) 661-0137.

Pontotoc District

Mary Jo Green                                  1,943 or 62 %    Winner

Mark Johnson                                   814 or 26 %

Todd Griffith                                      361 or 12%

Pickens District

Linda Briggs                                        1,280 or 61 %     Winner

Mike Watson                                     542 or 26 %

Daniel Worcester                             262 or 13%

Panola District

Beth Alexander                                336 or 48%     Run-off  Election

Beryl F. Sears                                     312 or 44%     Run-off Election

Ellen Flowers                                     54 or 8%

Supreme Court

Mark Holmes Colbert                     4,835 or 71%     Winner

Jeremy D. Oliver                               2,014 or 29 %