Awards Banquet for 911 Public Safety Telecommunicators - - Texoma news, weather and sports

Texoma Council of Governments Hosts Awards Banquet for 911 Public Safety Telecommunicators

Posted: Updated:

SHERMAN, TX -- (Press Release) The Texoma Council of Governments hosted the second annual Texoma Regional Public Safety Telecommunicators Awards Banquet April 15, 2010 at the Denison Country Club.  The event honored the 85 men and women in Cooke, Grayson and Fannin Counties who answer 9-1-1 emergency calls, dispatch emergency responders and equipment, and coordinate life saving assistance for our citizens.
"Although seldom seen, they are nonetheless first responders," said Dr. Susan B. Thomas, Executive Director of the Texoma Council of Governments.  "Just like police officers, firefighters and paramedics they are the men and women that work nights, weekends and holidays, missing their own family gatherings, school programs and family birthdays, and cannot stay home during inclement weather.  They are always there ready to answer every call for help."

The Texoma Council of Governments began hosting an awards banquet in 2009 as a way to show regional appreciation for the efforts of a group whose efforts are rarely considered until there is an emergency.  In addition to recognizing the collective efforts of 9-1-1 telecommunicators, there were awards presented in four categories, each recognizing the individual or team efforts of telecommunicators who provided exceptional service in extraordinary circumstances.

2010 award winners:

  • Telecommunicator of the Year – Vicki Sprinkle, Whitesboro Police Department for her handling of multiple high priority incidents including a fatality accident, two swift water rescues, a robbery and a structure fire all within the first four hours of the same shift.
  • Team Award of Merit – Shelli Bengfort and LaNita Welch, Cooke County Sheriff's Office for their handling of a hazardous material incident in which four children were injured and air evacuated for treatment.
  •  Life Saving Award – Sandra Beam and Dana Waugh, Grayson County Sheriff's Office for their quick thinking in the moments leading up to the collision of a passenger car and train.
  • Life Saving Award – Krystal Camp, Denison Fire Department for her handling of a suicidal caller.

Silent Hero Awards are presented to one individual from each agency in recognition of their exceptional professionalism in the field of emergency communications.  The award also acknowledges the special contributions of Telecommunicators whose daily performance is an inspiration and example to others.  The 2010 recipients were:

Cindy Woods, Bonham Police Department

Bill Carter, Fannin County Sheriff's Office

Shanna Kenney, Denison Police Department

LaDonna Earley, Denison Fire Department

Carrie Grissom, Sherman Police Department

Kevin Greig, Grayson County Sheriff's Office

Amanda Vessels, Van Alstyne Police Department

Louise Mabry, Whitesboro Police Department

Kimberly Heon, Gainesville Police Department

Amanda King, Cooke County Sheriff's Office

The Texoma Council of Governments is a voluntary association of the local governments in Cooke, Fannin, and Grayson Counties.  Established in 1968, the Texoma Council of Governments promotes economy and efficiency in the coordinated planning and development of the tri-county region through its community and economic development activities.  Either directly, or through contractors, the Council provides housing, utility assistance, and weatherization services for low-income citizens in the region.  The Council also facilitates the delivery of grant funding for homeland security, criminal justice, 9-1-1 and transportation needs.