Ingram Tops McCoy For Heisman - - Texoma news, weather and sports

McCoy Loses Out On Heisman


NEW YORK (AP) - In the closest balloting ever, Alabama running back Mark Ingram has won the 75th Heisman Trophy. He's the first member of the Crimson Tide to win college football's most prestigious award. Ingram is the third straight sophomore to win the award, following 2007 winner Tim Tebow (TEE'-bow) of Florida and Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford last season.

Ingram, who is leading the Crimson Tide into the Jan. 7 national championship game against Texas, edged out Stanford running back Toby Gerhart by a mere 28 points, 1,304-to-1,276. Texas quarterback Colt McCoy finished third, followed by Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh (ehn-DAHM'-uh-kehn soo) with Tebow fifth in the award given out by the Downtown Athletic Club in New York.